top of page

digitalrelution blog

Search
  • Writer's pictureianmmarshall

Disability Aware VS Disability Responsible

There is no getting away from the fact that I feel the term "Disability Aware" is is just tagline gimmick by most businesses that means nothing but a token gesture to the social diversity of the employment market and is in fact a marketing ploy to get the business seen.


Disability aware is supposed to mean a statement that that company will try it's fullest, going above and beyond the normal boundaries, to accommodate and adapt the working environment or role to be inclusive of the diverse disabilities as best as possible.


Not really knowing whether companies achieve this or not as I have only worked for one with my disabilities but looking at jobs marked "Disability Aware Company", especially on sites that tailor for the disabled, the job role advertised is rarely one tailored or adaptable to someone with a hidden disability.


How is the company supposed to have consideration for a disabled, less able bodied and in some cases less able minded person if the job description of the role advertised is tailored to a regular skilled, able bodied and minded employable person? The term "Disability Aware Company" has no place or means nothing on this job ad.


If companies want people with disabilities to feel employable and want to employ people with disabilities surely it makes sense to actually be aware of the diversity of disabilities affecting people in the workplace.


Personally I am put off applying for a job if the description reads pressure and stressful, obviously I realise that every job has the potential to have stress and pressure levels but there are employable people with disabilities that can do the jobs posted with adjustments but maybe only part time.


Physical disability is not the only disability type and companies stating that they are "Disability Aware" I feel only have physical disabilities in mind. Many people have Hidden Disabilities, including myself, such as Traumatic Brain Injury, Epilepsy, Chronic Fatigue and Fibromyalgia which all affect my working ability so I find it hard to look and apply for jobs because mostly the job description is want a normal, able bodied and minded employee to perform the job in the regular expected way.


Companies advertising these job vacancies could at least show some way that the role they are advertising is open to open to someone with a hidden disability. By adding the fact the role is available part time or job share could be a start, then by adding something like "we welcome applications from potential employees with disabilities and are willing to make reasonable adjustments". Seeing this on a job description would give people with the complexity of hidden disabilities more confidence in applying because the company is showing their adaptability and diversity in people.


Recent Posts

See All

Revitalization

In my search for something to keep me busy instead of having the feeling I have no purpose and just stirring in my own nothingness.I have found volunteering can be rewarding when you find a volunteer

Covid 19, Lockdown and Furlough

So I have been procrastinating on this blog for long time letting it linger instead of using as a tool as an outlet through lockdown and ultimately the furlough process with work. Ultimately lockdown

Fat-i-gued

Coping with fatigue is, I am realising, very difficult. At this moment I have little energy, I want to do activities and pace myself accordingly to achieve them resting a lot in between because manage

bottom of page