top of page

digitalrelution blog

Search
  • Writer's pictureianmmarshall

Revitalization

Updated: May 21, 2023

In my search for something to keep me busy instead of having the feeling I have no purpose and just stirring in my own nothingness.I have found volunteering can be rewarding when you find a volunteer position where you can apply your passion and skills.


When volunteering was mentioned to me and I looked at same volunteer opportunities I was greatly discouraged because there was nothing like I know how to do for a job. Mainly being menial, but others seem be describing a full time position.


And knowing what I can and cannot do with my disability gave up on the idea, not specifically because I wanted to stop looking for something to apply to skills to but because it became stressful and I was feeling further down the spiral of despair.


But with that idea of volunteering, I asked a friend who was doing similar things as I had done about the idea of what I could do her business as a volunteer. I don't know whether was a little shock at me asking as she knew my situation about my disability and the job I had done before but gladly accepted my offer to help as a volunteer, when I can, working from home.


I ended up learning a lot about branding and marketing and I am actually that learning as well as using all the sills I have had that I have used through careers. Volunteering, that is the the right type of volunteer opportunity for me in my situation and ability, has started a revitalization in me knowing now that I have purpose.


I anyone out there is in a similar situation to me, aphasia, disability, fatigue (often chronic) and cannot work full time, there is an opportunity out there with someone who needs your skills.


Among the things that I have got back to doing for her business, as she put it, I have become a "General sounding board, perspective-giver and word-smith" which I appreciate because not only are my skills being valued but what I think is being valued along with my skills that I have to offer together a neurodiverse point of view.

Recent Posts

See All

Disability Aware VS Disability Responsible

There is no getting away from the fact that I feel the term "Disability Aware" is is just tagline gimmick by most businesses that means nothing but a token gesture to the social diversity of the emplo

Covid 19, Lockdown and Furlough

So I have been procrastinating on this blog for long time letting it linger instead of using as a tool as an outlet through lockdown and ultimately the furlough process with work. Ultimately lockdown

Fat-i-gued

Coping with fatigue is, I am realising, very difficult. At this moment I have little energy, I want to do activities and pace myself accordingly to achieve them resting a lot in between because manage

bottom of page